Buhari to Nigerians: I’ll leave a secure country

President Muhammadu Buhari has again reiterated his intention to hand over a Nigeria free from insecurity to the “next generation of leaders.”

He renewed the pledge after conferring national honors on 443 Nigerians and seven foreigners at an elaborate ceremony in Abuja.

He said, “We will continue to root out all forms of banditry, criminality, terrorism, and insurgency in the land. As I stated earlier in my Independence address to the nation, I will hand over a Nigeria that is free from insecurity to the next generation of leaders.”

President Buhari explained that national honors were not merely decorative, but meant to “remind us of an important part of our responsibility as citizens.”

Stressing that citizens who contributed to national development deserved to be encouraged and appreciated, he enjoined all Nigerians to always endeavor to do their best for the country.

The award, which is in 10 categories, was presented to Supreme Court Justices, judges, top lawyers, incumbent and former governors, ministers, traditional rulers, creative artists, politicians, businessmen, athletes, and security officers who died in the line of duty, and other distinguished Nigerians.

Six persons were conferred with Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON), They are Senate President Ahmad Lawan; Acting Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) Olukayode Ariwoola; immediate past CJN Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad; Director-General, World Trade Organisation (WTO) Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations(UN) Amina Mohammed and Nigeria’s Permanent Representative to the UN Tijjani Muhammad-Bande.

Fifty-five others received Commander of the Order of the Federal Republic (CFR), 65, Commander of the Order of Niger (CON); 77, Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic (OFR); 110, Officer of the Order of the Niger (OON); 74 Member of the Order of the Federal Republic (MFR); and 55, Member of the Order of the Niger (MON).

There were four recipients each for the Federal Republic Medal I (FRM I) and Federal Republic Medal II respectively. The seven foreigners received the OFR award.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here