South Africa set to grant more Nigerians visa

South Africa’s Department of Home Affairs haa revealed that it will double the number of people it grants visa entry into the country from Nigeria.

Minister of Home Affairs, Aaron Motsoaledi, disclosed this while speaking at a briefing in South Africa on Wednesday on the department’s decision to add seven countries to her list of countries whose citizens can visit South Africa visa free.

According to the Minister of Home Affairs, Aaron Motsoaledi, “Tourism will soar if we relax visa requirements for entry into South Africa. We know that Tourism is very important for job creation,”

“Out of the 193 countries who are member states of the United Nations, the Department has granted visa-free status to 75 countries. Of these 16 are in our continent and are SADC members and 59 are from all over the world.”

Other countries added to South Africa’s new list of visa-free countries are: Qatar, United Arab Emirates, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, Cuba and Sao Tome and Principe.

Mr Motsoaledi said that his office will immediately enter into discussions with the respective countries about how a visa-free regime will work.

He added that further discussions will also be held for countries like China, India and Nigeria.

“While we are busy tackling the matter of the three countries, we shall this financial year increase two and a half times the number of people who work for Home Affairs to process visas in both China and India.

We shall double the number of people who process visas to our country in Nigeria,” he said.

 214 total views,  1 views today


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here