Over 107 incumbent Reps lose return tickets, others may follow

Ahead of the 2023 elections, 107 members of the Ninth House of Representatives have lost their ticket to return to the Green Chamber next year through the two major political parties, the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) and the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Some of these lawmakers have defected to other parties to seek re-election.

Results of 143 others were still outstanding at the time of compiling this report, an indication that the number of lawmakers who may not make it back to the House might increase.

About 110 other lawmakers have so far secured their tickets as a result of other Federal constituencies being collated by various political parties.

Investigations uncovered that two principal officers of the PDP in the House lost their return tickets to their opponents, while the House Chief Whip will fly the APC flag for the Senate for Borno North.

It was also revealed that many of the strong and vocal PDP members in the House did not win their various primaries, thus failing in their bid to return to the House.

Speaker Femi Gbajabiamila and his deputy, Ahmed Idria Wase, lead the pack of members who have so far got the nod of their parties to return to the House in 2023.

Unlike the PDP, all the principal officers of the APC in the House got their return tickets.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here