Lagos residents receive Conditional Cash Transfer for May, June

Lagos State has commenced disbursing N10,000 each for May and June to beneficiaries of the Federal Government’s Conditional Cash Transfer (CCT) resident in Amuwo- Odofin, Apapa-Iganmu, Ibeju-Lekki, Epe and Badagry local governments.

The initiative was launched in Lagos at the weekend. Others yet to be covered will receive theirs this week.

Commissioner for Wealth Creation and Employment Mrs. Yetunde Arobieke praised the Federal Government, through the National Social Safety Nets Coordinating Office, under the Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development, for its support in the cash transfer unit in Lagos.

Arobieke expressed her gratitude to Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu for his commitment and support in making the implementation a success.

She said enrolment began in April with the most vulnerable, aged and indigent identified. About 8,147 households were enrolled by the Cash Transfer Office, as approved by the governor in April, she added.

National Programme Coordinator of the scheme Dr Temitope Shinkaye, represented by Mohammed Abdullah, said the programme focused on the poor and vulnerable as identified through geographic and community-based targeting.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here