FG to withdraw licenses from eight discos

The Nigerian Electricity Regulation Commission may withdraw the licenses of eight power distribution companies after they were found to be guilty of breaching some provisions of the Eletric Power Sector Reform Act.

In an eight-page notice which was posted on the NERC’s website, the power sector regulator declared its intention to withdraw licenses issued to eight different Discos in line with the provisions of Section 74 of the EPSR Act.

It said “Take notice that pursuant to section 74 of the EPSR Act and the terms and conditions of electricity distribution licences issued to the distribution licensees by Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission has reasonable cause to believe that the Discos listed below have breached the provisions of EPSRA, terms and conditions of their respective distribution licences and the 2016 – 2018 Minor Review of Multi Year Tariff Order and Minimum Remittance Order for the Year 2019.”

The notice also said that the affected distribution companies are required to write a letter within sixty days of receiving of the notice, explaining why their licenses should not be withdrawn.

The affected Discos include Abuja Electricity Distribution Company Plc; Benin Electricity Distribution Company Plc; Enugu Electricity Distribution Company Plc; Ikeja Electric Plc; Kaduna Electricity Distribution Company Plc; Kano Electricity Distribution Company Plc; Port Harcourt Electricity Distribution Company Plc; and Yola Electricity Distribution Company Plc.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here