Dangote, Adesina, others appointed to combat global malnutrition

The President of the Dangote group, Aliko Dangote, and the President of the African Development Bank, Akinwunmi Adesina, have received new appointments from the United Nations (UN).

They were appointed as part of a team to combat malnutrition across the world. António Guterres who is the secretary-general of the United Nations made this appointment as part of the Scaling Up Nutrition (SUN) movement.

According to a statement released by SUN, the 27 leaders will meet to sustain the continuation of the movement into its third phase which is 2021 to 2025.

Full list of appointees below:

1. Akinwumi ADESINA (Nigeria), president, African Development Bank.
2. Aliko DANGOTE (Nigeria), chairman and CEO, Dangote Group
3. Manal AL ALEM (Jordan), chef.
4. Reem Ebrahim AL-HASHIMI (UAE), cabinet member and minister of state for international cooperation.
5. Mercedes ARÁOZ FERNÁNDEZ (Peru), vice president, Republic of Peru
6. Inger ASHING (SWEDEN), CEO, Save the Children International
7. Cherrie ATILANO (Philippines), founder and CEO, Agrea Agricultural Systems International Inc.
8. Alicia BÁRCENA IBARRA, (Mexico), executive secretary, Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
9. David BEASLEY (USA), executive director, World Food Programme
10. Martin CHUNGONG (Cameroon), secretary general, Inter Parliamentary Union
11 Josefa Leonel CORREIA SACKO (Angola), commissioner for Rural Economy and Agriculture, African Union Commission
12. Annette DIXON (New Zealand), vice president Human Development, World Bank
13. Chris ELIAS (USA), president of Global Development, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
14. Shenggen FAN (China), director general, International Food Policy Research Institute
15. Henrietta H. FORE (USA), executive director, UNICEF and chair of the SUN Movement Lead Group
16. Sophie HEALY-THOW (Ireland), youth leader
17. Daniel KABLAN DUNCAN, (Côte d’Ivoire), vice president Côte d’Ivoire
18. Monica Katebe MUSONDA (Zambia), founder and CEO, Java Foods
19. Jakaya KIKWETE (Tanzania), former President, United Republic of Tanzania, Kikwete Foundation
20. Shinichi KITAOKA (Japan), president, Japan International Cooperation Agency
21. Maryam MONSEF (Canada), minister of International Development and minister for Women and Gender Equality, Canada
22. David NABARRO (United Kingdom), Sustainable Development Facilitator, 4SD
23. Sania NISHTAR (Pakistan), founder and president, Heartfile Foundation
24. Inia SERUIRATU (Fiji), minister of Foreign Affairs, Fiji
25. Feike SIJBESMA (The Netherlands), CEO, Royal Dutch DSM
26. Gunhild Anker STORDALEN (Norway), founder and Ppresident, EAT Foundation
27. Gerda VERBURG (The Netherlands), UN Assistant Secretary-General and Coordinator of the SUN Movement.

 330 total views,  1 views today


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here