60th anniversary: Obasanjo absent as Gowon, Jonathan celebrate with Buhari

Former President, Olusegun Obasanjo was notably absent at the Eagles Square in Abuja yesterday, as President Muhammadu Buhari signed the anniversary register to Mark the country’s 60th independence anniversary.

President Buhari was joined by former Head of State, Gen. Yakubu Gowon, and former President Goodluck Jonathan, alongside a former Chief of General Staff, Gen. Oladipo Diya; former Vice-President, Namadi Sambo; and Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo.

Buhari did not deliver any other address at the event as he had earlier made a nationwide broadcast.

Nigeria’s diamond jubilee however coincided with the 10th anniversary of the bomb explosion planted by militants under the aegis of the Movement for the Emancipation of Niger Delta.

About 12 persons, including security operatives, died in the twin bomb blasts, while 17 others were seriously injured.

 35 total views,  1 views today


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here