US place New Travel Ban On Nigeria, Five Other Countries

Donald Trump led United State Government has imposed has travel ban on Nigeria, and five other countries in a move to restrict immigration.

Channels TV reported that the new policy, citizens from Nigeria, Eritrea, Myanmar, and Kyrgyzstan will not be allowed to apply for visas to immigrate to the U.S.

According to the US government, the policy was designed to tighten security for countries that don’t comply with the U.S. minimum security standards or cooperate to prevent illegal immigration.

The Wall Street Journal reports that in line with the policy, two other countries, Sudan and Tanzania, will be barred from participating in the diversity visa lottery, which randomly awards green cards to 50,000 immigrants from underrepresented countries annually.

According to US officials, the new restrictions are set to take effect on Feb 21 and will apply only to new visa applications. Immigrants who were issued valid visas before that date will still be able to move to the U.S.

Nigeria and the five other countries listed will join a list of seven nations that faced significant travel restrictions under President Trump’s original travel ban which was issued earlier in 2017.

 341 total views,  1 views today


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here