Quit orders: Amaechi, Sylva, Tallen, others leave today

All the members of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) and heads of Ministries, Departments, and Agencies (MDAs) who are aspirants in the 2023 election, have till today to exit the government.

The resignation of Minister of State (Mines and Steel Development) Uche Ogar on Friday, increased the number of resigning ministers to four.

Those who resigned earlier are Emeka Nwajiuba (Minister of State for Education); Ogbonnaya Onu (Minister of Science and Technology); and Godswill Akpabio (Minister of Niger Delta Affairs).

Minister of Transportation Rotimi Amaechi, a presidential aspirant, said yesterday that he will bow out of government today.

Two of the 10 cabinet members – Dr. Chris Ngige and Abubakar Malami allegedly dropped their ambition to remain in the cabinet.

Three other ministers, Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva; Minister of State for Niger Delta Affairs Tayo Alasoadura, and Women Affairs Minister Mrs. Pauline Tallen are also expected to leave the government today.

The youngest member of FEC, 38-year-old Ahmad Zakari, the Presidential Adviser on Power, is also expected to resign having obtained a nomination to run for governor of Jigawa State.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here