Buhari names railway stations after Jonathan, Tinubu, Fashola, others

President Muhammadu Buhari has sanctioned the naming of some railway stations on the Lagos-Ibadan railroad track and others on the Itakpe/Ajaokuta/Aladja-Warri after some prominent Nigerians.

Transportation Minister Rotimi Amaechi made the development known in a statement on Monday in Abuja by the ministry’s Director of Press, Eric Ojiekwe.

The minister explained that the beneficiaries have contributed to the progress and development of their communities and the nation.

The beneficiaries on the Lagos-Ibadan corridor, according to the statement, are: “Bola Ahmed Tinubu (Apapa Station); Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station); Babatunde Raji Fashola (Agege Station), Lateef Jakande (Agbado Station) and Prof. Yemi Osinbajo (Kajola Station).

“Others are: Funmilayo Ransom-Kuti (Papalanto Station); Prof. Wole Soyinka (Abeokuta Station); Segun Osoba (Olodo Station); Ladoke Akintola (Omio-Adio Station); Chief Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan Station) and Chief Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre).”

For the Itakpe-Ajaokuta/Aladja-Warri Railway, the beneficiaries are: “Alhaji Adamu Attah (Itakpe Station); Dr. Olushola Saraki (Ajaokuta Station); Admiral Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo Station); Brig.-Gen. George Innih (Agenebode Station); Anthony Eromosele Enahoro (Uromi Station); Chief Tom Ikimi (Ekehen Station) and Brig.-Gen Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia (retd.), (Igbanke Station).

Others, the statement said, include Goodluck Jonathan (Agbor Station Complex); Brig.-Gen. David Ejoor (Abraka Station); Michael Ibru (Opara Station); Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu Station) and Chief Mike Akhigbe (Railway Village, Agbor).

 238 total views,  1 views today


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here