States fail to implement teachers’ N30,000 minimum wage

Primary and secondary school teachers in 15 states across the country are yet to enjoy the N30,000 minimum wage.

This is coming three years after President Muhammadu Buhari signed the National Minimum Wage Act into law.

According to the Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT), the states are Abia, Bayelsa, Delta, Enugu, Nasarawa, Adamawa, Gombe, Niger, Borno, Sokoto, Anambra, Imo, Benue, Taraba, and Zamfara.

The data from the teachers’ union showed that only 15 states, including the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), have fully implemented the wage for primary and secondary school teachers.

States that have fully implemented the wage increase are Akwa Ibom, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Jigawa, Kano, Katsina, Kwara, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers State, and FCT.

There is a partial implementation in Kogi, Cross River; Kaduna and Yobe have reverted to the N18,000 minimum of 2011.

The N30,000 minimum wage was signed into law by President Buhari in April 2019 after a long battle with Organised Labour.

The document, however, detailed some of the steps taken by the state chapters of the NUT to ensure the successful implementation of the new minimum wage for teachers.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here