LAUTECH: NUC resolves conflict as Oyo, Osun sign MoA,

The National Universities Commission (NUC) on Friday resolved the conflict between Oyo and Osun states over the joint ownership of the Ladoke Akintola University of Science and Technology (LAUTECH) and the College of Health Sciences , Osogbo.

The state governments agreed that LAUTECH now belongs to Oyo State while the College of Health Sciences is owned in full by Osun State.

A memorandum of agreement (MoA) to this effect was signed yesterday by the governors of the two states -Seyi Makinde (Oyo) and Adegboyega Oyetola (Osun)- in Abuja in the presence of their Attorneys-General.

The MoU guarantees job security for indigenes of either states working in the two institutions and also preserves the rights of all students of both states for all times and purposes.

Executive Secretary of NUC, Abubakar Rasheed, at a meeting with officials of both states in Abuja said the administrative and other costs of LAUTECH would be borne by the Oyo State government.

The executive secretary noted that Osun State,on its part, would bear the financial burden of the College of Health Sciences.

LAUTECH, Ogbomosho was established in 1990 by the old Oyo State government with the main campus located in Ogbomosho, while the teaching hospital was established in Osogbo. Trouble started when Osun State was carved out of the old Oyo State in 1991, making both states joint owners of the institution.

 80 total views,  1 views today


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here