Kwara governor names nine women among 16 commissioner-nominees

The Kwara State governor, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, has named six more commissioner-nominees, with five more women joining the four female nominees he announced earlier.

Mr Abdulrasaq had on September 17 presented four female commissioner-nominees who are still been screened by the state House Assembly.

According to a statement by the governor’s governor’s Chief Press Secretary, Rafiu Ajakaye, on Tuesday, the new list of nominees was unveiled at the Kwara State House of Assembly.

The state Assembly Speaker, Yakubu Danladi, also announced that the screening of the nominees will begin on October 29.

The governor said the list reflects the state’s demography with women constituting 56.25 per cent of his nominees for commissioners. He said this has made the state Nigeria’s most gender-friendly government cabinet.

According to the statement, the list came after the governor had pledged to compensate women over their lack of representation at the general election in which all the elective positions went to men.

The latest nominees are Afolabi-Oshatimehin Adenike Harriet (Ifelodun); Ahmad Fatima Bisola (Ilorin West); Aremu Bose Deborah (Irepodun); Oyedun Juliana Funke (Isin); Oyeyemi Olasumbo Florence (Oke Ero); and Suleiman Rotimi Iliasu (Moro).

 253 total views,  1 views today


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here