CBN appoints new managers for dissolved banks

The Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) has named new executives to oversee the operations of Union, Keystone, and Polaris banks.

This is coming hours after it announced the dissolution of the boards and managements of three banks yesterday.

The apex bank acted to maintain the stability and continuity of the affected institutions in the face of the restructuring.

It said the appointments take immediate effect.

In a statement issued in the early hours of today, CBN Acting Director of Corporate Communications, Mrs. Hakama Sidi-Ali, announced the appointments.

She named: Yetunde Oni as Union Bank’s Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer and Mannir Ubali Ringim as Executive Director.

Keystone Bank has Hassa Imam as Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer and Chioma A. Many as its Executive Director Polaris Bank had its Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer Lawal Mudathir Omokayode Akintola and Chris Onyeka Ofikulu as Executive Director.

The statement reads: “The appointments take immediate effect,” Ms. Sidi-Ali added, emphasizing the CBN’s commitment to immediate action and minimising disruption.

She said, “This move to reinstate leadership in the affected banks demonstrates the CBN’s prioritisation of maintaining confidence and stability in the financial system.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here