By-election: 4.5m voters to elect three senators, 16 Reps

About 4,567,689 Nigerians are eligible to vote in the February 3 re-run and by-elections in 27 states.

Findings show that of the figure, 2,189,171 will participate in by-elections in two senatorial districts, four federal constituencies, and three state constituencies.

Also, 2,220,912 voters will participate in court-ordered re-run elections into the National Assembly. The remaining 157,606 eligible voters will participate in the elections into state constituencies.

By-elections will be conducted in two senatorial districts (Ebony-South and Yobe East), four federal constituencies in Kebbi, Lagos, Ondo, and Taraba as well as three state constituencies in Benue, Borno, and Kaduna states.

The vacancies were created as a result of the resignations of the occupants of the offices and the deaths of the previous lawmakers.

Court-ordered rerun elections will be conducted in one Senatorial district of Plateau Central, 12 federal constituencies.

The Federal constituencies include Surulere 1 (Lagos), Gauri/Shanta/Ingaski and Arewa/Dandi (Kebbi), Akoko North East/North West (Ondo), Jalingo/Yorro/Zing (Taraba), Ikono/Ini (Akwa Ibom) and Akamkpa/Biase (Cross River State).

Others are Nnewi North/Nnewi South and Orumba North/Orumba South (Anambra), Igbo Eze North/Udenu (Enugu), Birnin Kudu/Buji (Jigawa), Igabi and Kachia/Kagarko (Kaduna), Faskari/Kankara/Sabuwa (Katsina), Jos North/Bases (Plateau) and Fine/Fune (Yobe).

Similarly, senatorial elections will be held in Yobe-East and Plateau Central following court orders.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here