Tinubu orders timely conclusion of minimum wage convo

President Bola Tinubu has mandated the 37-man committee saddled with the responsibility of making recommendations for a new minimum wage to submit its report within a short time.

The Tripartite National Minimum Wage Committee was inaugurated yesterday in Abuja by the president.

Governors hailed the setting up of the committee, promising to ensure its implementation.

The committee has six governors, some ministers, representatives of the organised labour and the private sector as members.

The governors include Mohammed Bago of Niger State, representing the North Central; Bala Mohammed of Bauchi State, representing the North East; Dikko Radda of Katsina State, representing the Northwest; Charles Soludo of Anambra State, representing the Southeast; Ademola Adeleke of Osun State, representing the Southwest, and Otu Bassey of Cross River State, representing the Southsouth.

Other members are the Ministers are Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Wale Edun; Minister of Budget and Economic Planning, Atiku Bagudu; the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Dr. Yemi Esan, and the Minister of State for Labour and Employment, Nkeiruka Onyejeocha.

President Tinubu, who was represented by Vice President Kashim Shettima, also directed the Bukar Goni Aji-led Committee to ensure their decisions are firmly rooted in social justice and equity.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here