INEC proclaims Oyebanji Ekiti Gov-elect

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has proclaimed Mr. Biodun Oyebanji of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of the Ekiti governorship poll.

Oyetola won 187,058 votes to emerge the winner while the standard-bearer of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) Engr. Segun Oni garnered 82, 211 votes to come second in the contest.

The candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) Otuba Bisi Kolawole arrived distant third with 67,457 votes.

Announcing the results in the early hours of Sunday, the Returning Officer, Prof. Kayode Adebowale, said the APC candidate, Oyebanji, scored the highest number of votes to win the election.

Prof. Adebowale, who is also the Vice-Chancellor of, the University of Ibadan, said the total number of accredited voters in the state was 989,224, 351,865 while the total votes cast was 360,753,

Declaring the winner, Prof. Adebowale said ” That Biodun Abayomi Oyebanji of the All Progressive Congress, having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and returned elected”.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here